Skip to content Skip to footer

Deals Strategy and Operations

In the face of the global economic fluctuations, tremendous influence caused by technology innovation, and the intense competition of businesses worldwide, both domestic and foreign multinational corporations inevitably need to deal with various strategic investment decisions and transformation challenges. In order to comprehensively optimizing your investment decisions and  creating greater transaction value, PwC provides an integrated approach, from pre-deal strategy forming to post-deal integration planning,  with our extensively experienced PwC deals/M&A teams.

For every major investment decision, you would need a deal strategy to ensure the investment decision is sound, investment risks are manageable, and deal value can be created. Whether your organization is investing in a new company, industry or market, or contemplating a strategic business restructuring, or evaluating the commercial attractiveness and risks of a deal, or thinking about value creation post-deal, our impact-focused Deals Strategy professionals, who have unique blend of investment deals advisory and strategy consulting experience, can support you to make and execute on those complex but strategic investment decisions.

Taiwan market entry strategy

We support many multi-national companies to develop their Taiwan market entry strategy by assessing the Taiwan market opportunities, competition and regulatory trends, evaluating internal capabilities and resources, validating and prioritizing potential market entry options, which typically will involve M&A and partnership besides considering green field options.  We have extensive experience in assisting our clients in the subsequent M&A and partnership target, as well as analyzing the financial implications for the prioritized market entry options.

View more

Overseas market entry strategy

Taiwan outbound investment activities have been active in recent years due to the intense competition of businesses worldwide.  Chartering into new territories of a foreign market for the first time for many Taiwanese companies is critical to have a solid investment and strategy plan for the overseas market entry. Country and market segment prioritization are typically the first steps that we can assist, leveraging on PwC global network reach and resources.  We are also very experienced in guiding the overseas investment evaluation and strategic business planning, drawing on our accumulated outbound investment deal experience and lessons learned.

View more

Transformation strategy

Taiwan is in a period in which market growth has slowed, technological changes are fast, competition is keener, and costs are rising.  Both domestic and multi-national companies, which operating in Taiwan, are often faced with transformation challenges, for which strategic investment decisions need to be made to either survive or thrive.  We have proven strategic business portfolio assessment methodology and investment evaluation benchmarking database to assist in such strategic transformation, often involving organic expansion, M&A, JV, carve-out, spin-off, or divesture.

View more

Target search and screen

Whether you are identifying and evaluating potential targets for M&A, JV, or alliance, our team has the on-the-ground resources and knowledge base to support you in a systematic search and screen exercise, involving both strategic assessment and quantitative benchmarking and prioritization using scoring models.

View more

Commercial due diligence

We provide commercial due diligence support, helping to analyze target industry investment attractiveness, assess target company competitiveness, evaluate target financial and business plans, and validate value creation opportunities.  We often provide CommercialDD along with FinancialDD, TaxDD, LegalDD, Operational DD, ITDD and HRDD in an integrated approach with other PwC teams.

View more

We can support you in developing a post-deal value creation strategic plan to capture and maximize deal value. We have proven experience in delivering strategic and implementable business plan in an accelerated timeline to fit a deal requirement.

Taking control of my acquisitions

How can I financially, operationally and legally stabilize the acquired business?

One of the most common challenge buyers face upon acquiring a business is to effectively and timely take control of the newly acquired business while balancing and running their existing business portfolio. Failure to take control may result in loss of key talents and customers, disruptions to business operations, inability to track and measure business performance, non-resolution of regulatory compliance issues.

There are six key questions you should be addressing:

  • Have I clearly articulated and communicated my future vision for this acquired business to management and staff?
  • How do I set up an effective governance and risk management structure to manage business critical risks?
  • Were my due diligence assumptions made still valid given limited information available during pre-signing stage?
  • What are the operational, financial and regulatory risks inherent in my business?
  • How can I gain greater visibility into the business performance and meet my internal and external regulatory financial and operational reporting obligations?
  • What are the cultural differences between our current and the newly acquired business? How do I quickly bridge the cultural gaps to promote collaboration across both organizations?

We have supported several clients in successfully taking control of their acquisitions by tailoring and applying our proven global Taking Control methodology for each transaction. In doing so, we focus on key risks and value drivers, and help you define and execute a prioritized set of initiatives that deliver measurable benefits whilst minimize execution risks.

How we can help you:

  • Establish a simple and practical governance framework by setting up right level of governance and control structure for business decision-making / approval, and aligning high-level business direction among key stakeholders
  • Conduct confirmatory due diligence by identifying the potential operational, financial, regulatory and compliance issues, stopping leakage in deals and setting up mitigations
  • Design and refine management reporting by understanding the gaps in the two reporting processes, designing and implementing the appropriate financial and operational reporting to monitor business performance on an on-going basis
  • Transition planning by setting up a transition management office to plan and implement the Day 1 and first 100 days programs to align the differences between two companies and implement the changes in business (for example, people, culture, operations)

View more

Creating greater value through integration

Integration programs are often viewed as expensive failures, but we have seen many succeed. Success or failure is closely related to the chosen integration approach in our experience. Get this right from the start of the deal process and you will significantly increase the chances of delivering the business case.

There are four key questions you should be addressing:

  • Am I focusing on the strategic, financial, and operational objectives that matter most to me and my company?
  • How and to what level will I integrate? What are the right operating models within each of my key businesses/functions and do they fit the enlarged group?
  • How do I capture the deal value and realize the synergies I have already identified?
  • Does my team have both the experience and the bandwidth to deliver a successful integration program and maintain core business performance?

We can help you address these questions by working with you to evaluate, design, plan and execute your integration strategy. We make sure the approach taken is insightful, objective, pragmatic and flexible, and that we support the entire organization through the process from Board to payroll clerk.

How we can help you:

  • alue creation and value capture opportunities by following a well-defined, disciplined, and transparent approach to creating value and tracking synergies. We can help you accelerate the transition and achieve rapid integrations that fully realize desired synergies and allow them to return to a "business as usual" environment as quickly as possible after a deal
  • Integration planning and implementation by converting your integration strategy into detailed actions that align people, process, and systems with your integration objectives through an effective governance structure
  • Functional integration for when you require expertise on a specific function. We have a team of functional specialists responsible for integrating core functional areas and reports to individuals responsible for the overall integration

 

View more

Optimizing my carved-out business

How do I separate the business division or subsidiary while preserving value?

To avoid losing value during the bidding stage when you are separating a business division or a subsidiary from the rest of your business, you would need to ensure you have a detailed and workable carve-out plan ready to present to buyers.

There are three key questions you should be addressing:

  • What are the steps I should take to separate the business and how long should it take?
  • Do I want to provide all the existing services to the buyer(s)? How should I price it and for how long should I provide it for?
  • How do I prepare the target business to be standalone (as much as possible) prior to deal close in order to make it easier for the buyer to take control?

We have carve-out experience ranging from standalone businesses, to the most complex carve-outs, across a range of sectors, advising on the sell side and buy side. We understand both vendor and buyer perspectives and their impact on value to maximize your ability to deliver deal value.

How we can help you:

  • Carve-out support to help you prepare for the sale:
    • Developing a fit for purpose, cost efficient, standalone operating model;
    • Establish principles early on, define one off cost (and whose responsibility they are);
    • Defining flexible transitional arrangements to ensure the business can operate from Day 1; and
    • Create excitement, vision, and an appetite for change as people move away with the carved-out business.
  • Separation planning and implementation which includes working with you to prepare and implement a robust and executable separation plan applicable for all bidders

 

View more

Forming the right partnership

As businesses seek opportunities to pivot and rapidly capture new market opportunities, joint ventures and strategic alliances are becoming more important venues for CEOs. However, the success rate of partnerships can be low, as the joint models require more communication commitment to build trust, more rigorous planning to drive collaboration, and more forward-looking structure to form equitable risk-sharing.

There are five key questions you should be addressing:

  • Have you and your JV partner(s) agree on each party’s financial and operational contributions to the joint business vision, and how you will share risks and benefits?
  • Is your draft JV funding structure legally robust and tax efficient in the set-up and operation stages?  Do you have an exit plan?
  • Have you jointly developed and signed off on a detailed business plan that outlines the financial and operating models?
  • Have you agreed on the JV governance framework to clearly define management level organizational structure, roles and responsibilities, and decision-making protocols?
  • How would the JV accommodate the different corporate cultures among partners, and harness the differences to make the alliance stronger and more innovative?

How we can help you:

  • Develop a high-level financial model by quantifying your business strategy and assumptions into financial forecast that highlights initial investment requirements and future financial returns
  • Explore the optimized JV structuring options by examining the JV structuring regulation and tax efficiency in the set-up, operation stages
  • Establish a clear and practical JV governance framework by aligning well-defined board and senior management structure, leadership roles and responsibilities, delegation of authorities and dispute resolution process (secure leg room)
  • Clarify the critical business processes and organizational capabilities by constructing a high-level target operating model that outlines the key operational processes, systems and organizational structure for Day 1 as well as future state
  • Design an effective communication program for the employees by documenting the culture differences among partner organizations and providing formal and informal opportunities for all members to develop strong working relationships
  • Formulate a JV launch plan by setting up / training a launch management team to centrally plan, coordinate and track the Day 1 readiness and first 100 days programs, and mobilize resources from JV and parent groups.

 

View more

 

Contact us

Lily Wong

Lily Wong

Managing Director

Tel: +886 2 27296666, x26703

Follow us

Skip to content Skip to footer
Search

Loading Results

交易策略及併購後整合

面對全球經濟情勢波動、科技變革和衝擊擴大以及市場競爭加劇,無論是台灣或海外跨國企業皆須進行策略規劃以面對新階段發展及轉型所帶來的各項挑戰。為了全面性地優化您的投資決策及交易價值,PwC將透過富市場實戰經驗的交易團隊,自交易前期的策略規劃至交易後的整合規畫,為您提供一貫化且多元性的諮詢服務。

如果您的企業正在考慮投資台灣或海外的公司、進入新的市場、進行業務轉型重組、或者需要投資前的市場評估、商業盡職調查或投資後的業務優化規劃,我們的交易策略諮詢團隊將透過豐富的投資併購交易諮詢和策略諮詢經驗來協助貴公司評估並執行複雜的策略性交易決策。

進入台灣市場策略諮詢

在為跨國企業規劃進入台灣市場策略的服務中,我們團隊能透過結合策略諮詢和投資評估的經驗,為跨國投資企業分析市場上的投資機會、評估市場競爭態勢和法規環境變化對投資決策的影響、審視企業內部主要能力和資源以及評選最佳進入市場策略方案,其中所能為您提供服務的投資方式除了直接投資,也包含各種潛在的合併收購或合資合作。我們將在合併收購、合資合作、或直接投資的執行給予諮詢及規劃服務,針對潛在進入市場選擇所需的財務投資分析,我們團隊也擁有豐富的實務經驗。

View more

進入海外市場策略諮詢

台灣企業近年在面對國際化競爭下,開始進行轉型升級並積極向海外尋求新的投資機會,但往往面臨了對於有意進入的海外市場投資環境不夠瞭解的挑戰。我們團隊能透過PwC的全球資源網絡和能力來協助針對投資目標國家和相關特定市場進行評估和篩選,並利用我們協助眾多台灣企業成功走出國際所積累的投資交易經驗來協助更多企業深入評估相關市場投資機遇和風險,完成海外投資和業務發展規劃及實施策略,讓台資企業的海外投資更加順利。

View more

企業轉型發展策略規劃

台灣市場已進入長期成長趨緩、科技變革和衝擊變大、市場競爭加劇以及營運成本上升的狀態,無論是早年進入台灣市場的跨國企業或台灣本土企業都正面臨如何謀求生存與新階段發展轉型所帶來的策略規劃和投資決策雙重挑戰。我們團隊擁有已通過市場驗證的策略業務組合優化方法論和投資評估基準資料庫等相關資源,能夠協助企業評估並規劃通過內生成長、合併收購、合資合作、業務分割和出售等方式進行公司之策略重組及轉型。

View more

投資標的篩選諮詢

無論企業是想尋找、評估潛在併購或合作標的公司,我們的團隊皆可透過豐富的投資標的篩選及資料庫資源以提供相關的諮詢服務,包含快速且有效的策略評估、策略績效衡量,以及透過量化模型來達成專案標的篩選之目標。

View more

商業盡職調查

PwC具備包含商業、財務、稅務、法務、營運、資訊技術環境和人力資源盡職調查諮詢的專業團隊,得提供企業客戶一體化且全方位的盡職調查服務。商業盡職調查的工作一般聚焦於產業投資吸引力評估、目標公司競爭力分析、目標公司商業營運計畫和財務預測評估,以及投資後業務優化機會的建議。

View more

PwC團隊具備能夠配合緊湊的交易時間表的要求來快速訂定投資後業務優化和發展戰略規劃的完整經驗與能力,我們提供針對多元整合需求的策略執行計畫,使投資方能夠在最短時間內實現最大化交易價值。

收購業務的投資後管控

當買方買下新業務時,最常面臨的挑戰為:如何在維持自身業務營運的同時,針對併購業務進行有效的投資後管控。在不同的管理架構、營運模型與企業文化下,這樣的挑戰將更加被凸顯。投資後管控不力將導致關鍵人才與客戶的流失、日常營運中斷以及不合法規造成的懲罰等相關問題。

 

六個需要解決的關鍵問題:

  • 我是否已經將公司的願景與併購業務的員工清晰地溝通?
  • 如何建立一個有效的風險管控機制以管理業務上面臨的關鍵風險?
  • 在簽約前有限的資訊條件下,盡職調查中的假設是否依然成立?
  • 我未來的業務有哪些營運、財務與法規上的風險?
  • 我將如何進一步洞察公司業績,以滿足內部和外部法律法規對財務以及營運的查核要求?
  • 新公司與我之間是否有文化差異?我應該如何迅速建起連接雙方文化的橋樑,並在組織內推廣合作精神?

 

透過應用經驗證的投資後管控方法及制定化的方案,我們幫助了許多客戶成功對其收購的業務進行投資後管控。在此過程中,我們專注於關鍵風險和價值驅動要素,幫助您定義和執行一套量身訂做並兼具優先順序的行動方案,以實現可衡量的投資價值,並降低執行風險。

 

我們將提供什麼幫助:

  • 建立一套清晰可行的管控框架:建立正確的管理與控制架構,規劃決策審核權的安排,使關鍵利益相關方對公司未來策略達成共識
  • 進行確認性盡職調查:通過確認潛在的營運、財務、法律問題,減少交易前的價值流失並建立應對機制
  • 改進管理報告系統:通過了解被投資方和投資方之間營運及財務彙整流程的差異,制定合適的財務與營運報告流程,以滿足集團資訊彙整的要求,並及時監督各公司業績表現
  • 設計有效的溝通計畫:策略性地規劃通知員工有關交易情況的時間及方式,包括郵件、員工大會、員工挽留計畫以確保人才提振士氣
  • 過渡期規劃:建立過渡期管理辦公室/培訓相關團隊,統一規劃,整合、監督並推行首日及百日計畫及其相關事項。逐步統一雙方公司的差異性並實施業務轉變(如: 人員、文化與營運)

View more

通過併購後整合實現價值提升

併購後整合計畫的失敗通常導致高昂的代價,但是我們仍見證過多次的成功案例。成功與否往往取決於所採用的整合策略,從交易流程的早期開始規劃正確的整合策略將有效大幅增加您取得成功交易的機率。

 

四個需要解決的關鍵問題:

  • 我是否專注於對我和我公司來說最重要的策略、財務與營運目標?
  • 如何整合以及確定欲整合的程度為何?各個關鍵業務職能的正確營運方式為何?整合策略是否與集團整體營運目標一致?
  • 我該如何實現交易價值並取得我所預期的合作綜效?
  • 我的團隊是否擁有足夠的經驗與能力去實現一個成功的整合計畫同時維持關鍵業務的營運績效?

 

我們可以協助您評估、設計、規劃並執行整合計畫以解決上述的問題。我們採取的方法將同時兼具洞察力、目標導向、實用性與靈活性,執行過程中我們將對整個組織架構提供支援,上至董事會下至薪資結算人員。

 

我們將提供什麼幫助:

  • 價值創造與價值實現:通過遵循明確、有序和透明的方式來創造價值並追蹤協同效應。我們可以協助您的企業及投資加速過渡整合階段以快速實現期望的合作綜效,同時在交易結束後儘快恢復日常營運模式
  • 整合規劃與執行:通過將您的整合策略轉化為詳細行動計畫以實現整合的實施。通過建立有效的管控架構使人員、流程、系統與整合目標達成一致
  • 功能性整合:當您對特定職能需要協助的時候,我們團隊內的各職能專家將負責支援各核心職能區域的整合,並向總體整合負責人進行彙報

View more

極大化被分割業務的價值

為了避免在潛在交易競標階段失去您欲出售的標的價值,當您把業務部門或子公司與自身業務拆分時,需要確保準備一個詳細的可行計畫以展示給買家。

 

三個需要解決的關鍵問題:

  • 應該採取哪些步驟來進行業務分割,需要多長時間?
  • 是否要向買方提供所有的現有服務?應該如何定價?應該提供多長時間?
  • 我將如何在交割之前為目標業務進行其獨立營運所需的準備,以便買方更易進行投資後的管控?

 

我們有跨行業的豐富業務分割經驗,從業務的獨立營運,到最複雜的分割安排,無論為買方或賣方都能提供諮詢。我們瞭解賣方和買方的觀點及其對交易價值的影響,並期望最大限度地提高您實現併購交易價值的能力。

 

我們將提供什麼幫助:

  • 分割支持
    • 制定與目標相符的、成本優化的獨立營運模型;
    • 建立早期分割原則,定義一次性費用(以及相關責任人);
    • 定義靈活的過渡期安排,以保證業務能在交割首日順利延續;
    • 傳達願景,激勵分割業務的員工主動擁抱改變
  • 拆分計畫及實施:與您一起為所有的競標者準備並實施一份強力且有效可執行的分割計畫

View more

建立合適的合資夥伴關係

隨著業務不斷尋找成長和迅速佔領新興市場的機會,對管理者來說合資公司和策略聯盟夥伴成為了重要的手段。然而,策略聯盟並不是總能成功,成功的合作模型需要詳盡的溝通以建立信任,謹慎的計畫以引導合作,高瞻遠矚的架構以實現風險分攤。儘管合作夥伴和策略聯盟對管理者來說變得越來越重要,但管理它們的挑戰也正在不斷上升。合資企業正變得越來越複雜,部分管理措施的成功率可能很低。信任、協作和風險公平分擔的需要使得這些安排比傳統的並購交易更加微妙。

 

需要解決的五個關鍵問題:

  • 您和您的合作夥伴是否認同彼此對合資業務在財務和營運上的貢獻?對如何分擔風險和利益是否達成共識?
  • 您擬定的合資公司架構是否符合法規要求並能實現稅務優化?是否就共同的目標和承諾達成共識?
  • 您和您的合作夥伴是否共同制定了詳盡的商業計畫、財務和營運模型?
  • 您和您合作夥伴是否就合資企業的治理框架達成共識,並清晰地定義了管理層組織架構、職責及權利和決策流程?
  • 合資公司是否能應對企業文化的差異,並利用這些差異加強聯盟,激發創造力?

 

我們將提供什麼幫助:

  • 制定指引性的財務模型-將公司策略和假設量化為財務預測,以凸顯初始投資需求和未來的財務收益
  • 探索合資公司架構的優化方案-審視有關合資公司架構的合規性、稅務優化程度以及營運模型
  • 建立清晰可行的合資公司治理架構-就董事會及高階管理層的架構、管理層職責和權利、授權架構和爭議處理機制達成一致
  • 明晰關鍵業務流程和組織能力-為了交割首日及未來的順暢營運,建立包括營運流程、系統和組織架構在內的架構性目標營運模型
  • 設計與員工的有效溝通方式-認可雙方的企業文化差異,提供正式和非正式的溝通機會以建立扎實的工作關係
  • 規劃合資公司實施計畫-建立和培訓管理團隊,統一規劃,協調並追蹤交割首日和百日計畫的策劃和執行,在合資公司和集團公司間調配資源

View more

 

Contact us

翁 麗俐

翁 麗俐

普華國際財務顧問公司執行董事

Tel: +886 2 27296666, x26703

關注我們